Seal Symbolism

The shield, derived from the provincial seal of Abra where the town is located.

Three Stars represent the three ethnic group composing the populace of the municipality – the Ilocos, Igorots and Tinggiuans.

Circle, divided into eight parts representing the eight barangays comprising the municipality.

Cattle Head, depicts Luba as a cattle producing municipality.

Rice fields, stands for the major product of the municipality.

Mountains, represent the mountainous town within the Cordillera ranges.

Three trees, represent the 3 major trees abounding in the town’s forest namely: narra, molave and lawan.




History and Government

The first people of Luba were Tingguians belonging to the Maeng Tribe, considered the biggest tribe in the Cordillera. The places with the municipality of Luba where the early people settled were Tayab, Caonoan, Pasungan, Sasabtan and Cappini. As the number of people increased, the settlers spread to nearby places. Those who first occupied Caonoan moved to Lao-ingen, Nagbukel and Topika. The settler of pasungan moved to Gayaman while the early settlers of Sasabtan and Cappini occupied Luzong and Barit. Other places where also occupied by the early settlers such as Sabnangan, Bangcagan and later on in Pacpaca, Tabangao, Banoa-ao, Pega and Agumanay.

Luba was first called Barit-Amtuagan, because Amtuagan was then a part of the place. Later, the name was changed Barit-Lulluna because another district, Tiempo, claimed Amtuagan to be its part. From the first who letters of the words Barit and Lulluno, Balu become the name of the place.

Lulluno got its name from the word “rono” or “lono”, a plant prevalent during the early times. Gayaman got its name when during the consecration of the place, a large centipede, gayaman in the dialect, crawled around the place prompting the people who witnessed the event to name the place Gayaman. Bangcagan got its name from the setllers of Sabnangan who after crossing the Abra River had to got up or “Bumangcag” in the local dialect. Luzong was so called because of its appearance. It is a valley surrounded by hills. During heavy rains, the place easily flooded looking like a lake.

The first seat of government of the municipality was Luzong. Later on in the early part 1920 during the term of Apo Caoating, then President of Luba, the seat of government was transferred to Bangcagan. Bangcagan was chosen because of its centrality.

When the place became a regular municipality, the name was changed to its present name, Luba, actually the syllabic reverse of Balu.

Luba has 8 barangays: Ampalioc, Barit, Gayaman, Lulluno, Luzong, Nagtuquipa, Poblacion and Sabnangan.