Seal Symbolism

Sun and three stars, symbolize the nation. Danglas is an integral part of the Philippines and is commited to support and implement appropriate national programs/projects/activities.

Mountains and fields, the municipality has vast mountain areas. It has ricefields which are the main source of livelihood of the municipality.

Seven Trees, represent the seven component barangays of the municipality. Also, they represent the vast forest resources of the municipality.

Carabao Head, symbolizes the primary source of income which is farming.

Laurel Leaves, symbolize life and hope. The people of Danglas are full of energy and hope despite the present low income classification of the municipality. The people hold firm belief that they can attain progress when they unite and work hand-in-hand.


History and Government

Danglas was formerly called “Padayog”, a tinguian term for was later on given the name Danglas presumably after Barangay Danglas in the northernmost portion of the municipality.

It was said that in the area, “Dangla” plants which were excellent as firewood grew in abundance. It was customary in the place for people to gather around a bonfire in the morning to warm themselves from the cold climate. The people usually burned dried dangla woods for the purpose.

One morning, while the people were gathered around a bonfire warming themselves, the Spaniards came. One of the Spaniards asked what the woods being burned were. One of the old menaround the fire bending himself down to fix the firewood, answered “Dangla”, with an ended tail sound of”as…” because the smoke from the burning wood irritated his eyes. The Spaniards repeated the word. Thereupon, the name danglas came into being.

When Abra was separated from Ilocos Sur in 1846, the elderly folks recalled that among the first able leaders to govern the municipality were Ruedo, Callibag,Cadangyao, Gettap, Cayabo and Balao-as. It is to be noted that tinguians before the Spanish Colonization had only a single name. The first seat of government then was located in Danglas, Danglas.

In 1902, Danglas was established into a township. Among the early leaders during the time were Balit, Gadgad, Bilaneg, Sibayan, Cayabo, Damase Layugan, Malangen and Baingan.

Danglas became a municipal district in 1921 and was raised to a regular municipality in 1937 with Agcalis as its first president. The first seat of government at Danglas, Danglas was later transferred to Barangay Caupasan. When Mayor Braulio Abbago assumed office, he transferred the seat of government from Caupasan proper to sitio Dumegiuay where the Abra Ilocos Norte road pass through. Upon the assumption into office of mayor Wilmer Borbon, the town hall was established at Cabaruan. The town hall is presently located in this barangay traversed by the Abra Ilocos Norte road.

Presently, the municipality is politically subdivided into 7 Barangays, namely: Nagaparan, Danglas, Abaquid, Pangal, Padangitan, Caupasan and Cabaruan.